Hannah Goes Fishing

A Fishing (and more) Blog

New Colors

Leave a comment

I found this Salon.com article on the Future Peace Corps Volunteers Facebook page, posted by another volunteer hopeful.  You can read it by clicking the link below.
Reading it was a moving experience for me, as I’ve often  felt the same feelings described in this letter.  I’ve pulled out a section of the letter that really reminded me of my experiences in Thailand and elsewhere abroad. These are the same feelings that drive me in some primal way to pursue Peace Corps; feelings I haven’t really found the words to talk about yet.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
“The work was good, too. When it went well, anyway. Our projects were complicated sometimes, and they were always being carried out in low-resource settings. It could be frustrating. But seeing a village pull together, as I got to over and over again, was a delight. I could go to bed at night, dehydrated and exhausted, truly emptied out, and feel so much joy. I intend to chase that feeling for the rest of my life, and I will follow it anywhere.
This feeling is like having this whole other element in my life, like a color I had never been able to see before my Peace Corps service, or like an entirely new way of putting the same old words and thoughts together, an entirely new way of living. It came every day, but some days more than others. The best days were the days that were full of work and people. The best nights were the nights when I went to bed sunburned and sore, with a light heart, a full stomach, and the knowledge that I had done a good thing well. I remember thinking: This is all I want. Let me not live a day past my ability to feel this way. Not an hour.”
Salon.com Op-Ed by Cary Tennis 
Slogan property of the U.S. Peace Corps.
Comment here!

