Hannah Goes Fishing

A Fishing (and more) Blog

Bread for the Apprehensive Baker

1 Comment

I’ve been on a bread baking kick lately in an effort to stop buying store bread. Room mate M was actually able to find a place where we could buy fresh bread wrapped in only paper (Safeway, of all places), but it’s still not as great as making bread at home. Inspired by L over at Sustainable Alaska, I purchased a full 50-pound sack of whole wheat flour for the pretty reasonable price of about $38.00 (it was actually a bit under). I did the math, and when compared to buying similar flour in bulk at Fred Meyer, I still save about 24 cents per pound. Even more when compared to pre-packaged varieties. Plus, I’m supporting a local business that carries great products; a win for everyone!

So, with all this wonderful flour I decided it was time to make some bread. This week I’ve made a few banana loaves with some bananas that were rapidly heading south. I also tried out a yogurt wheat loaf with a bread maker Tom’s mom has lent us. Don’t care much for bread makers, but they sure make yeast breads a heck of a lot easier!

For those of you unfamiliar with my baking capabilities, they are…well…teetering on the brink of sheer incompetence. Okay so perhaps not quite that bad, but I still don’t seem to have the knack for consistently producing yummy, light bread. Pizza dough, sure. Sandwich bread, not so much. So needless to say, I’m a huge fan of yeast-less breads.

This week, I wanted to try something I’ve heard other folks talk about but have never eaten myself: beer bread. I found a super easy recipe over at Farm Girl Fare that I’m reposting here along with some photos. I seriously cannot emphasize how easy it is to make (literally, five minute prep time). It’s also thick, hearty, and delicious. I’ve tried it with Alaska Brewing Company Pale beer, and this time I tried it with the same company’s new Black IPA.

Farmgirl Susan’s Almost Too Easy Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe
Makes one loaf

2 cups organic whole wheat flour
1 cup organic all-purpose flour
1 Tablespoon granulated sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon baking powder (make sure it’s fresh!)
14 ounces beer (or 12 ounces beer & 2 ounces water)

Optional glaze: 1 egg & 2 teaspoons water, beaten

Oven Temp: 375 degrees

Make sure to grease your bread pan!

Seriously, it’s really that easy. The prep time takes me (at most) 5 minutes, and then I just pop it in the oven. The smell alone when prepping and baking is totally worth not going to the store. Make sure to check out the Farmgirl website by clicking on the link. Her beer bread is just the tip of the tasty iceberg.

I wondered about not having any cooling racks, but then realized I could just set them on my coil burners (I have an electric oven/stove) to achieve the same effect! I just love it when I find a way to get around buying something. Other tips for green cooking include using a knife to check the center of your baking goods instead of toothpicks, and using vegetable oil to grease your pan instead of a spray.

Anyway, thanks for reading and happy baking to you!

One thought on “Bread for the Apprehensive Baker

  1. I spread vegetable oil around using a silicone pastry brush. Makes things so much easier.

Comment here!

