Hannah Goes Fishing

A Fishing (and more) Blog

Rumble in the Jungle

Leave a comment

Remember a while back when I said I was going to try my greenish thumbs at indoor gardening? Well, turns out not all is well in my jungle-y paradise. The last couple of days, I’ve noticed a whiteish mold growing on the soil surface in some of my pots that have yet to sprout or are still in seedling stages. Most websites tell me that I’m over-watering (probably true), and that my plants aren’t in the right environment to fight mold.

Being that my budget requires me to conserve heating fuel, the temperature in my cabin usually hovers around 65 degrees; probably not the most friendly of plant environments. We also don’t have a lot of warm air circulating (just blasts of cold air whenever the front door is opened), and though this new cabin is much lighter than the last, my plants still aren’t receiving much direct sunlight. Unfortunately, warm circulating air, direct sunlight, and being careful not to over-water are all the easy cures for soil mildew! So, what to do?

Well, I found this nifty website that talks about homemade fungicides and other plant problem solutions that I wanted to share with you. Apparently all I need to do is whip up a weak batch of apple cider vinegar rinse (not unlike what I use in my hair) and give my plants a spritz or two for a few days. I do worry that my plants are too delicate to handle the rigors of mildew annihilation, but hopefully they’ll pull through.

Still, my thumbs are seeming less green as the days go by and my seedlings, while they appear to be healthy now, grow at a glacial pace. Any suggestions for speeding up growth? Any suggestions for growing seedlings in general? Share them in the comments!

Comment here!

