Hannah Goes Fishing

A Fishing (and more) Blog

Feature Blogs

Leave a comment

This week I want to share with you some of the blogs I’ve been reading like an addict. Some of them are listed under my Favorite Blogs and Webpages tab, but some are new (but great!). Without further ado, enjoy reading!


The Plastic Free Chef: Making plastic free food
This blog is simple, yet tasteful and easy to navigate.  I really admire Mary Kat, who at 17 (!) is already taking big steps in reducing her plastic waste and sharing her knowledge (and fabulous recipes) with others.  For those of you who don’t know me personally and have been spared the pleasure of ever eating in my kitchen, I am not a great cook.  I like my food and am happy to eat the same three meals week after week after week, but for some reason I seem fairly alone in that regard.  So, in an effort to spare my room mate and patient boyfriend the same recipes over and over, I’m attempting to reach out into sustainable, plastic-free, low-impact cooking.  Much to my delight, the Plastic Free Chef was there to meet me.

I haven’t tried many of PFC’s recipes, but the ones I have attempted have been A) super easy (or as I like to call them, Hannah-proof) and B) yummy.  Plus, they are largely vegetarian (great for my efforts at sticking with my relatively new pescetarian lifestyle) and plastic free!  

You may be wondering why I haven’t turned to the internet for oodles of healthy foodie recipes earlier.  A fair question.  I suppose my problem is that most Cleen foodie blogs are also written by folks located in more food diverse areas.  Fairbanks, Alaska doesn’t offer a lot in terms of diverse grocery shopping, and the farmer’s market is only available a few months a year.  Plus, specialty goods like coconut almond butter or gluten free flours are pricey, and frankly I just am not picky enough to eat them.  I love dairy products, rejoice in gluten, and am positively joyful about finding recipes that cater to my less-than-sophisticated ingredient choice preferences.  While I do my best to buy local and sustainably, I really just want recipes that are easy and use ingredients I can pronounce and source.  Again, Plastic Free Chef to the rescue!

I’ll end by saying you should definitely check her out.  She even has a great tips page on how to make your kitchen plastic free (it’s easy!).  I can’t wait to try out her Mushroom Bean Burgers (though I think I’m going to substitute the lentil sprouts growing on my windowsill for mushrooms), and I loved the results from her Homemade Vegetable Broth.

The Non-Consumer Advocate
 This blog is written by the very witty Katy Wolk-Stanley, and I fell in love with her philosophy the moment I read her blog’s tagline:  Use it Up, Wear It Out, Make It Do, or Do Without.  

Katy writes, “I have decided to challenge myself with being part of “The Compact,” which is a movement of people all over the world who are choosing to think outside of the “big box” and buy nothing new.”

I immensely admire her dedication, and love the tips she offers on her blog to follow a similar challenge.  Being the ridiculous cheapskate that I am, not buying new things really rings my bell.  The only things I buy new are food (hard to avoid that one), underwear, socks (mostly because I’m addicted to fresh, wooly socks), bras, and cosmetics (mostly perishables like toothpaste, toilet paper, etc.).  I’m looking around my cabin now trying to think of what was new when I purchased it, and I”m hard pressed to find anything that isn’t a food product.  I have some nice camping gear that I purchased (and my laptop, and some house fixing supplies…), but a vast majority of my “new” things were given to me.  So, pretty good so far.

Anyway, I love Katy’s dedication and writing.  She has me chuckling regularly, and manages to balance her lifestyle choice with a family that doesn’t necessarily follow immediately in her footsteps.  So, room for everyone to do as they like, and still be Cleen.  So, check her out and stay tuned for more informative, inspiring entries from the Non-Consumer Advocate.

Comment here!

